Skip to main

Virtual Tour Legend

Mattertag Posts—informational tags communicating key content—are embedded throughout each virtual tour; for the CSU-AVL project, a customized legend guides viewers through the virtual experience. The legend consists of four colors—green, gold, orange, and gray—each of which showcases specific information: green – architectural materials and/or features, gold – pictures, orange – floor plans, gray – published articles.

The CSU–AVL project was promoted to the Sterling, Colorado, community members on KPMX radio in three separate interviews and the local newspaper. Read the article here: CSU project provides virtual tour of Sterling’s historical buildings. Listen to the interviews here: KPMX – CSU Engagement Interview June 17, 2021, KPMX – CSU Engagement Interview July 15, 2021, and KPMX – CSU Engagement Interview August 12, 2021.

Union Pacific Railroad Depot is located in Sterling’s historic district at 113 North Front Street. The Union Pacific Railroad company commissioned it in a combination of Victorian eclectic and Romanesque Revival styles. Constructed in 1902, the Union Pacific Railroad Depot marked Sterling’s greatest period of development. Sterling flourished with the railroad because it provided trade to the east. The city supplied sugar beets, livestock, and other agricultural products to those along the Atlantic. In return, Sterling gained economic, social, and cultural growth. None of this could have been done without the Union Pacific Railroad Depot, and today, it stands as a monument to that period.

Model ID: WHxQuEzWSHs
Original architecture drawings.
National Archives Catalog.

Logan County Courthouse is located in Sterling’s historic district at 315 Main Street. John J. Huddart, a prominent Colorado architect, designed the building in the classical style. Constructed in 1909 and 1910, the Logan County Courthouse provides a center point for politics, government, and law in Logan County. The imposing architectural style of the building sets it apart from all others in Logan County. Huddart designed it as a significant feature of Sterling and the county, and it represents the strength and prosperity its governance provides.

Model ID: 25NFToLeyio
Original architecture drawings.
National Archives Catalog.

St. Anthony’s Catholic Church is located in Sterling’s historic district at 326 South 3rd Street. An unknown architect designed it in the Romanesque Revival style. Constructed in 1911, the St. Anthony’s Catholic Church has continued to provide religious services, cultural significance, and social opportunities to the community of Sterling. The Catholic Church was established in Sterling before 1888, but the first church was built in that year on Walnut Street. It provided services and security for the Catholic minority in Sterling, who struggled with discrimination and poverty. Reverend P.U. Sasse was the first official resident and pastor appointed to Sterling in 1908, which established the parish. This led to the construction of the current church, St. Anthony’s Catholic Church.

Model ID: 1RyKEtfejXJ

The Old Sterling City Hall building is located in Sterling’s historic district at 214 Poplar Street. It was designed by John J. Huddart—the same architect who designed the Logan County Courthouse—in the Georgian Revival style. Constructed in 1912, the Old City Hall was an integral part of the city and it’s growth.

Constructed by William A. Kaepernik, the building cost only $13,208 to complete. It housed municipal offices, the town marshal’s office, the fire department, and the city jail. The building was vacated in 1963, and privately bought not long afterwards. The interior has been updated twice, but still retains some of the original features. The building stands today as a testament to all it helped to contribute to the city of Sterling.

Model ID: ARdq7Y1y4SS

The Sterling Elk Lodge (BPOE Sterling Lodge No. 1336) is located in Sterling’s historic district at 321 Ash Street. An unknown architect designed it in the American Foursquare and Prairie School styles. It was constructed circa 1918 and has provided a space to contribute to the well-being of the community in Sterling. Despite the additions that the building went through over the years, it still maintains much of its original design. The most apparent change happened to the front porch—a second story was added on top of it and was then fully enclosed. The addition of the dome room changed the side of the building as well and does not fit with the original design style. However, these additions were important for the growing town of Sterling and the services the Elk Club provides.

Model ID: QZhw1MYwnr3

First United Presbyterian Church is located in Sterling’s historic district at 130 South 4th Street. The architecture firm J.C. Fulton Uniontown from Pennsylvania designed it in the neoclassical style. Construction was completed in 1919 and aided the congregation in providing significant contributions to religious, cultural, and social life in the Sterling community.

The church was originally formed three and a half miles from where it is now, in a sod schoolhouse in 1878. When Sterling was founded a few miles south, the congregation was instrumental in its establishment. One of the church’s founders, M.C. King, was responsible for the Union Pacific Railroad’s choice in Sterling for its railroad. Many other members of the church were leaders in the economic development of Sterling, and to this day, they are an important part of the community.

Model ID: YFX2Kr1JFMS
Original architecture drawings.
National Archives Catalog.

The I & M Building is located in Sterling’s historic district at 223 Main Street. Eugene G. Groves, a well-known architect in Northern Colorado, designed it in Georgian Revival detailing. Constructed in 1920, the I & M Building is significant for its architectural quality and connection to two prominent businessmen, W. C. Harris and George Henderson. The building’s association with Harris and Henderson is significant because of their contributions toward expanding the economic prosperity in Sterling. Harris was a pioneer in farming, ranching, and cattle feeding and owned the I & M Building from 1919 to 1920. Henderson purchased the unfinished building in 1920 and named the building after his daughters, Isabel and Mildred. His building and business have been passed down through the generations and still exist today.

Model ID: 3wDRyMzRGeE
National Archives Catalog.

Sterling Post Office, Federal Building, and Federal Courthouse is located in Sterling’s historic district at 306 Poplar Street. It was designed by OSA James Wetmore, the acting supervising architect of the U.S. Office of the Supervising Architect. Designed in the Neoclassical style, influenced by the Beaux-Arts. Constructed between 1930 and 1931, the Post Office represents the federal government and court. It is one of the few public buildings representing the federal government in the local community. The Post Office, Federal Building, and Federal Courthouse was completed in 1931 but was originally drafted in the 1920’s. Therefore, it architecturally represents the popularity of the Beaux-Arts styles that permeated America in the early 1900s. After its completion, it was the only building in Colorado in the 1930s to have a federal courthouse.

Model ID: y86wKWGWftC
National Archives Catalog.

The Overland Trail Museum is located in Sterling at 110 Overland Trail. It was designed by an unknown architect but is meant to replicate old forts that were commonly found in Sterling in the 1800s. The building opened in 1936, and the Overland Trail Museum has provided visitors with a rich memorial of Sterling’s history. Named after the path taken by gold miners and pioneers, the Works Project Administration built the museum after the Great Depression. The original museum saw additions in 1965 and has had numerous additions since then. Community members have donated many of the items displayed in the museum, and the expansion of the museum shows the dedication of the community to Sterling’s local history.

Model ID: 3jn1FN2VmWn

Learn More About the Interior Architecture and Design Program